The National Tribal Preservation Program

Over 500 Indian tribes, are officially recognized by the United States government, in the contiguous 48 states and Alaska. These federally recognized tribes are eligible for funding and services from the Bureau of Indian Affairs, either directly or through contracts, grants, or compacts. This site provides vital information and cultural resources for Native Americans.


The National Tribal Preservation Program

Historic Preservation

The National Tribal Preservation Program is designed to help Indian tribes preserve and protect resources and traditions important to them. The program funds Tribal Heritage grants for federally recognized Indian tribes, to help them with cultural and historic preservation projects.

The program also funds Tribal Historic Preservation Officers, who:

Inventory tribal historic properties
Prepare and carry out a tribal-wide historic preservation plan
Assist federal agencies with reviewing undertakings on tribal lands
Read More…